S.W.A.T Team

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


State, Regional and National Champions

Gastonia's SWAT Team has earned state, regional and national recognition in SWAT competitions. They are a six-time state winner at the North Carolina Justice Academy (1992-1994, 1996, 2013 and 2014), and a three-time regional winner in Spartanburg, S.C., (1995, 1997 and 2004). ESPN billed the 11th Annual Southeastern SWAT Competition in Spartanburg April 28-May 1, 2004, as the National SWAT Challenge.

2014 SWAT First Place Win

For the second consecutive year the Gastonia Police SWAT Team brought home a first place win in the 2013 SWAT Competition in Salemburg, NC. The three-day competition sponsored by the North Carolina Tactical Officers Association was held April 15-17, and consisted of seven teams from police departments, sheriff’s offices and the U.S. Army's Fort Bragg. Click here for a slideshow with pictures courtesy of the N.C. Justice Academy

SWAT Team members:

  • Capt. Ed Turas (Team Commander)
  • Sgt. Jamey Blalock (Assistant Commander)
  • Sgt. Kevin Putnam (Team Leader)
  • Sgt. Brian Atkins (Team Leader)
  • Jim Poole
  • Lex Popovich
  • Eric Nelson
  • Sgt. Scott Norton
  • Anthony Borja
  • Adam Wilson
  • David Wind
  • Sgt. Craig Singer
  • Eric Seagle
  • Clint Bridges
  • Stephen Rollins
  • Ben Reese
  • Warren Roberts
  • Andy Gregory
  • Andrew Pate
  • Josh Colvard (Cherryville PD)
  • Sgt. David Sisk (Mount Holly PD)
  • Kyle Lang (Stanley PD)
  • Sgt. Brian Lawrence (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
  • Jason Ellis (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
  • Stephen Strickland (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
  • Capt. Gary Williams (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
  • Joe Griffin (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
  • Mark Shedd(Gaston County Sheriff's Office)


Questions or comments about this site? Email the webmaster.