Planning

 
The Planning Department is responsible for both the current and long-range planning functions of the City of Gastonia. In addition to providing assistance with land use information, zoning permits, occupancy permits, setbacks, sign permits, variances, complaints, and flood plain administration, the department's responsibilities also encompass comprehensive and small area planning and design, rezoning and other public hearing processes, as well as coordination of local historic districts and other design and development review processes. Further, the Planning Department serves as a significant resource to other City departments and divisions in the realm of concept visualization and GIS mapping & analysis.

 


Planning Director: Jason Thompson, AICP       704-854-6629    jasont@cityofgastonia.com

Comprehensive and small area planning and design, & current and long-range planning functions


Administrative Assistant: Vacant                             704.854.6652     planning@cityofgastonia.com
Customer service, general inquiries
 
GIS Specialist: Julia Baker-Granata                        704.866.6748     juliab@cityofgastonia.com
City maps
 
Planner: Vacant                                                                   704.869.1023
Customer service, general inquiries
 
Planning Technician: Chrystal Howard, CZO  704.854.6652     chrystalh@cityofgastonia.com
Zoning Verification Letters, Secretary to BOA, HDC, & GPC 
 
Senior Planner: Kim Wallis, AICP                           704.854.6605     kimw@cityofgastonia.com  
Local Historic Districts - Brookwood & York-Chester, Certificate of Appropriateness Permits, Design Review Committee
  
Senior Planner: Jana McMakin, AICP                 704.866.6796     janam@cityofgastonia.com
Subdivisions, rezoning, & text amendments
 
Zoning Administrator: Vacant                                704.866.6746
Site plan reviews, commercial zoning, signs, BOA - variances and appeals
 
Zoning Officer: Jason Putnam, CZO                   704.866.6741     jasonp@cityofgastonia.com
Commercial and residential zoning, zoning violations, signs & certificate of compliance permits
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Garland Municipal Business Center 
150 S. York Street, Gastonia, NC  28052
(P.O. Box 1748, Gastonia, NC  28053-1748)
704.854.6652 (office)
704.869.1960 (fax)
 

Print   Email