Historic Districts

Historic districts are establishedby the City Council for the purpose of protecting and conserving the heritage and history of the neighborhood and the City of Gastonia. Gastonia historic districts are distinctive areas. They are places of singular historical flavor characterized by the streets, buildings, trees, architectural design, and landscape features. The districts are also a legacy, linking present and future generations with their heritage and providing diversity vital to the City’s future quality of life.
Locally Designated Historic Districts
As of 2007, two areas have been designated as locally designated historic districts: York-Chester Historic District and the Brookwood Historic District.
york chest local dist thumbAbout the York-Chester Historic District
The York-Chester Historic District is the City’s oldest community and consequently the City’s first historic district. Created in 1988, York-Chester consists of over 540 structures, with many of the homes dating back to the early 1920s. The architecture of the district is a mixture of many styles, such as Bungalow, Italianate, Queen Anne, Colonial Revival, Greek Revival, Gothic Revival, Neo Classical, New England Saltbox, Farmhouse, Colonial, and Georgian Revival.
brookwood dist thumbAbout the Brookwood Historic District
The Brookwood Historic District is one of the City’s oldest communities and Gastonia’s second historic district. Created in 1997, the Brookwood Neighborhood consists of over 106 structures. The majority of homes in the district were constructed in the mid-1930s to late 1940s. Predominate architectural styles vary between Craftsman, Tudor, Colonial Revival, and Minimal Traditional.

york chest national dist thumbNational Register Historic District
Three of Gastonia's most significant older neighborhoods have been designated as National Register Historic Districts.  These districts are listed on the National Register of Historic Places - the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation.  The National Register of Historic Places is administered by the US Department of the Interior through the NC State Historic Preservation Office (NCSHPO). The NCSHPO website includes lists, by county, of historic properties, sites and districts that have been listed or determined eligible for listing in the National Register.
For more information on the Historic Districts, see the Quick Links section to the right.

The Planning Department is located at Garland Municipal Business Center at 150 S. York Street on the second floor.
Contact Information:
Garland Municipal Business Center
150 S. York Street, Gastonia, NC  28052
(PO Box 1748, Gastonia, NC  28053-1748)
704.854.6605 (office)
704.869.1960 (fax)