State, Regional and National Champions
Gastonia's SWAT Team has earned state, regional and national recognition in SWAT competitions. They are a six-time state winner at the North Carolina Justice Academy (1992-1994, 1996, 2013 and 2014), and a three-time regional winner in Spartanburg, S.C., (1995, 1997 and 2004). ESPN billed the 11th Annual Southeastern SWAT Competition in Spartanburg April 28-May 1, 2004, as the National SWAT Challenge. 
2014 SWAT First Place Win
For the second consecutive year the Gastonia Police SWAT Team brought home a first place win in the 2014 SWAT Competition in Salemburg, NC. The three-day competition sponsored by the North Carolina Tactical Officers Association was held April 15-17, and consisted of 10 teams from police departments, sheriff's offices and the U.S. Army's Fort Bragg. Click here to view a slideshow.
SWAT Team members:
Assistant Chief Edward J. Turas (Team Commander)
Sgt. Jamey Blalock (Assistant Commander)
Sgt. Paul Smith (SWAT Command Advisor)
Sgt. Kevin Putnam (Team Leader)
Sgt. Brian Atkins (Team Leader)
Lex Popovich
Eric Nelson
Sgt. Scott Norton
Adam Wilson
Josh Wood
Sgt. Craig Singer (Assistant Team Leader)
Sgt. Eric Seagle (Assistant Team Leader)
Clint Bridges
Stephen Rollins
Clarence Belton
Andy Gregory (Sniper Team Leader)
Andrew Pate
Heath Stanley
David Lutz
Joe Costner
Capt. David Sisk (Mount Holly PD) (Assistant Team Leader)
Mark Kelske (Belmont PD)
Sgt. Brian Lawrence (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
Jason Ellis (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
Sgt. Stephen Strickland (Gaston County Sheriff's Office) (Assistant Team Leader)
Joe Griffin (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
Matt Williams (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
Jared Smith (Gaston County Sheriff's Office)
Questions or comments about this site? Email the webmaster.